Photo: Wolfgang Bertenbreiter

Ethiopia, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Cameroon, Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe

Over 800,000 agriculturalists have received training in sustainable cotton cultivation and had their crops certified in accordance with the Cotton Made in Africa standard, allowing many of the participants to raise their income by around 30 to 40 percent. A total of 1.1 million tons of unprocessed cotton (440,000 metric tons of deseeded cotton) was grown within the program in the 2014-5 season.

Photo: Photothek Ute Grabowsky

Pakistan and Cambodia

The concerns of the workforce in over 25 factories employing some 20,000 workers are now regularly taken into account as a result of the numerous training programs and moderated discussions between management and employees carried out since the beginning of the cooperative German development program. Work inspectors from the centres of the textile and garment industry in the Punjab have received training in collaboration with the German Association of Occupational Accident Insurance Funds (DGUV).

Photo: Seidentraum

India

The textile company Seidentraum and the German Corporation for International Cooperation (GIZ) support the production and export of high-end, hand-woven products using locally sourced Eri silk in the Indian state of Meghalaya as part of a long-term program to improve the skills, income and living conditions of the indigenous Meghalayan population.

Photo: Vaude

Vietnam, China and Taiwan

The German outdoor equipment producer VAUDE has joined forces with the German Investment and Development Corporation (DEG) to scrutinise the material suppliers and producers in its supply chain and ensure environmentally friendly production and safe working conditions. VAUDE uses third-party experts to provide its Asian suppliers with an intensive two-year training in environmental, chemical, and industrial safety management.

Photo: Photothek Michael Gottschalk

Bangladesh

Around 850 factories have demonstrably improved their adherence to social and environmental standards after taking advantage of the consultation and training offered by German development programs.

Some 100,000 garment industry workers have learnt how to better assert their rights after attending information sessions offered by NGOs and trade unions in women’s cafes.

Over 300 work inspectors have been trained and, where necessary, provided with motorbikes and other equipment as part of a joint project sponsored by German development assistance and the International Labour Organisation (ILO).

Photo: GIZ/PSES

Bangladesh

Consultation provided by German development assistance funds allowed 200 factories to improve their environmental management practices with regard to wastewater treatment plants, chemical management and energy use. The Bangladeshi government passed a law in April 2016 regulating the disposal of sewage sludge.

Photo: Zar Chi Oo, SMART Myanmar

Burma

Around 2,000 workers have already attended information sessions informing them of their rights in Sunday cafes. The cafes also provide legal advice in labour and family conflicts in order to bolster workers’ sense of independence and confidence.

The Textile Partnership

A new heavyweight is making waves in the textile industry: the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles. Established in 2014 on the initiative of the Federal Minister of Economic Cooperation and Development, Gerd Müller, the partnership aims to ensure sustainable standards in the production of textiles. Its membership includes numerous industry giants and sustainability trailblazers. Together, its members account for 55 percent of all turnover in the textile retail branch.

Comprising more than 180 members, the partnership’s membership includes 148 companies and associations, 24 NGOs, two trade unions, five standard-setting organisations and three ministries.

The partnership is charting the course for a new textile sector that is both social and ecologically sustainable. The partnership seeks to implement improvements in four areas:

The partnership has prepared the way for the successful implementation of its goals by applying the following measures:

For more information see www.textilbuendnis.com

Foto: Wolfgang Bertenbreiter

Äthiopien, Burkina Faso, Elfenbeinküste, Ghana, Kamerun, Malawi, Mosambik, Tansania, Uganda, Sambia und Zimbabwe

Über 800.000 Menschen wurden in nachhaltigem Anbau von Baumwolle geschult und ihre Ernte wurde nach dem „Cotton made in Africa“-Standard zertifiziert. Dadurch konnten viele ihr Einkommen um 30 bis 40% erhöhen. Durch das Programm wurden insgesamt 1,1 Millionen Tonnen Saatbaumwolle in der Saison 2014/15 nachhaltig produziert (entspricht 440.000 mt entkörnter Baumwolle).

Foto: Photothek Ute Grabowsky

Pakistan und Kambodscha

Seit die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zahlreiche Trainings und moderierte Gespräche zwischen Management und der Belegschaft von über 25 Fabriken mit insgesamt über 20.000 Arbeitern und Arbeiterinnen durchgeführt hat, werden Anliegen der Belegschaft besser berücksichtigt. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung wurden Arbeitsinspektoren aus den Zentren der Textil- und Bekleidungsindustrie des Punjab fortgebildet.

Foto: Seidentraum

Indien

Das Unternehmen Seidentraum und die GIZ unterstützen in Meghalaya die Produktion und den Export hochwertiger handgewebter Produkte der einheimischen Eri-Seidenindustrie, wobei die Fähigkeiten, das Einkommen und die Lebensumstände der indigenen Bevölkerung Meghalayas langfristig verbessert werden.

Foto: Vaude

Vietnam, China und Taiwan

Gemeinsam mit der DEG (Deutsche Investitions- und Entwicklungsgesellschaft mbH) nimmt der Outdoor-Hersteller VAUDE die Materiallieferanten und Produzenten in seiner Lieferkette genau unter die Lupe, um umweltfreundliche Produktion und sichere Arbeitsbedingungen zu gewährleisten. Durch externe Experten schult VAUDE seine asiatischen Zulieferer über zwei Jahre intensiv in den Bereichen Umwelt-, Chemikalien- und Arbeitssicherheitsmanagement.

Foto: Photothek Michael Gottschalk

Bangladesch

Rund 850 Fabriken halten Sozial- und Umweltstandards nachweislich besser ein, seit sie Beratung und Trainings der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in Anspruch genommen haben.

Rund 100.000 Fabrikarbeiterinnen haben gelernt, ihre Arbeitsrechte besser geltend zu machen, indem sie an Aufklärungsmaßnahmen von Nichtregierungsorganisationen und Gewerkschaften in sogenannten Frauencafés teilgenommen haben.

Über 300 Arbeitsinspektoren wurden ausgebildet und wenn nötig mit Motorrädern und Geräten ausgestattet – ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation ILO.

Foto: GIZ/PSES

Bangladesch

200 Fabriken haben nach der Beratung durch die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit ihr Umweltmanagement bei Kläranlagen, Chemikalienmanagement oder Energieverbrauch deutlich verbessert. Die bangladeschische Regierung verabschiedete im April 2016 ein Gesetz zur Behandlung von Industrieklärschlamm.

Foto: Zar Chi Oo, SMART Myanmar

Myanmar

In zwei sogenannten Sunday Cafés sind bereits rund 2.000 Arbeiterinnen über ihre Arbeitsrechte informiert worden. Die Arbeiterinnen können dort auch Rechtsberatung für Arbeits- und Familienkonflikte in Anspruch nehmen, wodurch sie unabhängiger und selbstbewusster handeln können.

Das Textilbündnis

Die Textilwirtschaft wird durch ein neues Schwergewicht aufgemischt: das Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien. Es ist 2014 auf Initiative von Bundesentwicklungsminister Dr. Gerd Müller angetreten, um nachhaltige Standards bei der Herstellung von Textilien durchzusetzen. Zu den Mitgliedsunternehmen zählen zahlreiche Branchenriesen und Nachhaltigkeitsvorreiter. Sie erwirtschaften 55% des Umsatzes des Textileinzelhandels in Deutschland.

Unter den über 180 Mitgliedern finden sich 148 Unternehmen und Verbände, 24 Nichtregierungsorganisationen, 2 Gewerkschaften, 5 Standardorganisationen und 3 Ministerien.

Das Bündnis stellt die Weichen für eine neue Textilwirtschaft: sozial und ökologisch! Gemeinsam will das Bündnis Verbesserungen durchsetzen in Bezug auf:

Den Weg zur erfolgreichen Umsetzung dieser Ziele hat das Bündnis bereitet:

Mehr Infos unter: www.textilbuendnis.com

Shop fair mit Vero & Selvie

Deutschland setzt Trends: Vero trägt Selvie - wir tragen Verantwortung. Dieses Shirt wurde von Näherinnen wie Selvie gemacht - zu gerechten Löhnen, aus nachhaltig angebauter Bio-Baumwolle, frei von giftigen Chemikalien und in einer transparenten Lieferkette mit menschenwürdigen Arbeitsbedingungen.
Noch ist fairer Konsum selten. Machen wir Fair Fashion zur Selbstverständlichkeit in unseren Kleiderschränken!